

SCHOOL OF MUSIC

# Philharmonic Orchestra Gerardo Edelstein, conductor Ying Lam Chu, conductor

featuring

Zephyr Wills, viola co-winner of the 2024 Orchestras Concerto Competition

Thursday, April 25, 2024 ♦ 7:30 p.m.

Eisenhower Auditorium

Three Cornered Hat Suite No. 2

Manuel De Falla (1876–1946)

The Neighbours Miller's Dance (Farruca) Final Dance (Jota)

Viola Concerto, Op. posth. BB 128 (Serly version)

Bela Bartok (1881–1945)

I. Moderato

Zephyr Wills, viola

Daphins and Chloé Suite No. 2

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)

Lever du Jour Pantomime Danse Générale



**Zephyr Wills** is a classical and folk musician from Aotearoa, New Zealand. Wills completed his Bachelor of Music Hons in viola performance at the New Zealand School of Music since 2021 has been studying at Penn State University in the USA as a graduate assistant to Professor Timothy Deighton. Wills plans to pursue further study in Europe, and has received scholarship offers from the Royal College of Music in London and the Guildhall School of Music. As a folk musician, Wills continues to perform all over Europe, New Zealand, and the US. He was recently announced as one of the top ten applicants, out of 600, for the prestigious Bob Dylan Songwriting Center Fellowship.

# Philharmonic Orchestra Gerardo Edelstein, conductor

Ying Lam Chu & Javier Gorelik, graduate assistant conductors

### VIOLIN I

Ziyue Li+
Allison Smith+
Spencer Stover
Tim McClure
Robert Schiff
Gabriel Bulacan
Leo Goubet-McCall
Julie Dzikowski
Cordelia Marie-Ceres
Torra Bridges
Dalia Shvartsman
Hannah Ratthe
Oliver Bryan
Šárka Blahnik
Sophia Hoagland

### VIOLIN II

Vinicius Vieira\*
Rui Xue\*
Andre Nadeau
Austin Miller
Brooke Ajay
Lena Logan Adams
Olivia Hepler
Ava Loehr
Daniel Delgado
Joy Bilko
Jackson Milinovich
Leif DeForce-Petersen
Lexiang Huang
Carson Mesics
Nikolai Dabagian

### VIOLA

Zephyr Wills\*
Carla Mendoza Trejo\*
Isabel Healy
Madison Engle
Katherine Nugent
Emily Pinto
Elizabeth Benkert
Bhavya Jha
Grace Hazlett
Dominic Sitto
May Fowler

### **CELLO**

**Emily Jao** 

Enzo Cypriani\* Isaac McNulty Christopher Werner Gabriella Lawler Hannah Green Jonathan Hunt

### BASS

Alexio Ciorra\* Mark Haynes\* Pearl Lin Ryan Murnane Isander Fernandez Dante Tramontin Alejandro Mijangos

### **HARP**

Ruth Hunter

please contact Russell Bloom, rlb16@psu.edu, in advance of your participation or visit.

### FLUTE

Kahley Mitchell Faith Galbraith

### PICCOLO

Nicole Laborie

# ALTO FLUTE

Abigail Wobber

### OBOE

Katelyn Jean Estep Liyan Jin Abigail Alexander Evan Costlow

### **ENGLISH HORN**

Katelyn Jean Estep Abigail Alexander

### **CLARINET**

Mandi Bearjar Kevin Perez Chandler Cleric Xander Popko

### BASS CLARINET

Joshua Rubin

### BASSOON

Joey Smith Guanchen Liu Anna Prezioso Nascia Phillips

### **CONTRABASSON**

Guanchen Liu

### HORN

Ryan Peterson Ashley Godwin Alaina Althouse Thomas Skoog

### **TRUMPET**

Hayden Cameron Antwan Hill Noah Bauer Amy Feaster

### **TENOR TROMBONE**

Andy Zall Gabriel Herrera Erik Barber

### **BASS TROMBONE**

Colson Board

### TUBA

Jaden Adkins Caiden Flowers

### PERCUSSION

Michael Valente\* Isabella Scotti Jack Kerness Caden Werner Eunice Sun Ryder Haines Kieran Gresko Mako Robeson

### PIANO/KEYBOARD

Michael Gilliland

# \*co-principal/section leader

+co-concertmaster

### This publication is available in alternative media on request.

Penn State is an equal opportunity, affirmative action employer, and is committed to providing employment opportunities to all qualified applicants without regard to race, color, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, disability or protected veteran status. Penn State encourages qualified persons with disabilities to participate in its programs and activities. If you anticipate needing any type of accommodation or have questions about the physical access provided,

Please refrain from the use of recording devices during this performance. Uploading video and/or audio recordings of any portion of this concert to social media sites such as Facebook and Youtube violates copyright law and is prohibited.