

SCHOOL OF MUSIC

Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Tonya Mitchell-Spradlin, conductor
James Gates, graduate assistant
conductor

8

Chamber Orchestra
Gerardo Edelstein, conductor
Ying Lam Chu, graduate assistant
conductor

Friday, September 29, 2023 ♦ 7:30 p.m.

Recital Hall

Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Tonya Mitchell-Spradlin, conductor

D'un matin de printemps (1917/2021) Lili Boulanger

(1893–1918) arr. J. Hontz

O Magnum Mysterium (1994/2003) Morton Lauridsen

(b. 1943)

arr. R. Reynolds

James Gates, conductor

La Création du Monde (1923) Darius Milhaud

(1892-1947)

Festival Variations (1982) Claude T. Smith

(1932 - 87)

Intermission

Chamber Orchestra

Gerardo Edelstein, conductor

Overture to "The Creation"

Franz J. Haydn (1732–1809)

Ying Lam Chu, conductor

Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Allegro con brio Andante con moto Scherzo; Allegro Allegro; Presto



Chamber Orchestra

Gerardo Edelstein, conductor

Ying Lam Chu and Javier Gorelik, graduate assistant conductors

VIOLIN I

Tim McClure, concertmaster Ziyue Li Spencer Stover Dalia Schvartsman Leo Goubet-McCall Šárka Blahnik

VIOLIN II

Cordelia Ceres

Vinicius Vieira, principal Rui Xue Hannah Ratthe Torra Bridges Austin Miller Sophia Hoagland

VIOLA

Carla Mendoza Trejo, co-principal Zephyr Wills, co-principal Allison Smith Madison Engle

CELLO

Ruth Stokes, co-principal Enzo Cypriani, co-principal Isaac McNulty

BASS

Dante Tramontin, co-principal Mark Haynes, co-principal Alexio Ciorra

FLUTE

Faith Galbraith Nicole Laborie

PICCOLO

Nehama Dormont

OBOE

Katelyn Estep Liyan Jin

CLARINET

Kevin Perez Xander Popko

BASSOON

Joey Smith Guanchen Liu

CONTRABASSOON

Benjamin Hochman

HORN

Ryan Peterson Thomas Skoog

TRUMPET

Hayden Cameron Antwan Hill

TROMBONE

Andrew Zall Erik Barber Elora Howard

TIMPANI

Jack Kerness

Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Tonya Mitchell-Spradlin, conductor

Katie Newmiller and James Gates, graduate assistant conductors

OBOE

Abigail Alexander* Carly Gilbert Maria Lacaze

CLARINET

Mandi Bearjar*
Chandler Cleric
Aiden Cotter
Michael Dews
Caitlin Goldberg
Grace Patterson

BASS CLARINET

Samantha Elliott

BASSOON

Ben Hochman Peter Liu Joey Smith*

SAXOPHONE

Lauren Ackerman, baritone Aidan Doyle, tenor Ben Haas Luke Kranyak Joe Wolf*

HORN

Ashley Godwin Evan Linkimer Gabe Louw Ryan Peterson*

TRUMPET

Noah Bauer Evan Baxter Hayden Cameron Tyler Dean Tanner Deyo* Amy Feaster Antwan Hill

TROMBONE

lan Bruce Isaiah Ebersole Gabriel Herrera* CJ Seamon Andrew Zall

BASS TROMBONE

Erik Barber

EUPHONIUM

Izzy Landis William McCowan*

TUBA

Jaden Adkins Caiden Flowers*

PERCUSSION

Ryder Haines Jack Kerness Charles McCall Bella Scotti* Eunice Sun Michael Valente Cade Werner

BASS

Frank Cloke Dante Tramontin

VIOLIN

Timothy McClure Vinicius Vieira

CELLO

Ruth Stokes

PIANO

Ziyao Huang

HARP

Ruth Hunter

LIBRARIAN

Maria D'Alessandro

*principal

This publication is available in alternative media on request.

Penn State is an equal opportunity, affirmative action employer, and is committed to providing employment opportunities to all qualified applicants without regard to race, color, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, disability or protected veteran status. Penn State encourages qualified persons with disabilities to participate in its programs and activities. If you anticipate needing any type of accommodation or have questions about the physical access provided, please contact Russell Bloom, rlb16@psu.edu, in advance of your participation or visit.

Please refrain from the use of recording devices during this performance. Uploading video and/or audio recordings of any portion of this concert to social media sites such as Facebook and Youtube violates copyright law and is prohibited.